Book Reviews

Audio Book Review: ‘In Five Years’ by Rebecca Serle

Click HERE to give the Instagram post some love!

Thank you @libro.fm @simon.audio & @simonandschuster for my gifted audiobook copy of ‘In Five Years’ by Rebecca Serle!

Perfect for fans of ‘Me Before You’ by JoJo Moyes & David Nicholls ‘One Day’—a striking, powerful, & moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Dannie Kohan lives her life by the numbers. She is nothing like her lifelong best friend—the wild, whimsical, believes-in-fate Bella. Her meticulous planning seems to have paid off after she nails the most important job interview of her career & accepts her boyfriend’s marriage proposal in one fell swoop, falling asleep completely content.

But when she awakens, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, & beside a very different man. Dannie spends one hour exactly five years in the future before she wakes again in her own home on the brink of midnight—but it is one hour she cannot shake. ‘In Five Years’ is an unforgettable love story, but it is not the one you’re expecting.

So, when you read the synopsis you may think, “Wait, what? Is this going to be like an amnesia -thing or Sliding Doors type thing?” Nope. Like the description says, it’s not the love story you’re expecting. What I thought would be a heart-warming rom-com at first became SO much more!

It’s a heart-wrenching at most times, heart-breaking at many times, vastly moving, smart & compelling contemporary fiction novel wrought with layers upon layers of human emotion & atmosphere. The story takes place in NYC & if you have never been there, you will feel like you are visiting there while reading or listening to this book. The narrator also did a fantastic job & kept me wanting more.

Captivating, brilliant, beautiful, & original, ‘In Five Years’ is a thought-provoking exploration of friendship, love, loss & self-exploration with a dash of magic & some unexpected twists. This book was released on 3/10 by Atria books & Simon Audio. I listened to the book with my Libro.fm app because Librofm supports independent bookstores & they need our sales right now more than ever!

Use my special code MOMLOVESREADING when you start a Librofm membership & get a 3-for-1 audiobook deal. Plus, when you download the app now, this Saturday 2 FREE books will be added to your account for Independent Booksellers Day! More details soon! So don’t delay, download today!

One thought on “Audio Book Review: ‘In Five Years’ by Rebecca Serle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s