Book Reviews

Book Review: “The Second Home” by Christina Clancy

Click HERE to go to my Instagram

Happy Pub Day & Thank you @stmartinspress for my gifted copy of “The Second Home” by Christina Clancy! (pub date 6/2, today!)

A debut novel set on Cape Cod that centers on a beloved family home & the summer that changed the lives of three siblings forever, perfect for readers of J. Courtney Sullivan & Elin Hilderbrand.

Tender and compassionate, incisive & heartbreaking, Christina Clancy’s “The Second Home is the story of a family you’ll quickly fall in love with, & won’t soon forget.

After a disastrous summer spent at her family summer home on Cape Cod, 17-year-old Ann Gordon was left with a secret that changed her life forever, & created a rift between her sister, Poppy, & their adopted brother, Michael.

Now, 15 years later, her parents have died, leaving Ann & Poppy to decide the fate of the Wellfleet home that’s been in the Gordon family for generations. For Ann, the once-beloved house is tainted with bad memories. Poppy loves the old saltbox, but after years spent chasing waves around the world, she isn’t sure she knows how to stay in one place.

Just when the sisters decide to sell, Michael re-enters their lives with a legitimate claim to the house. But more than that, he wants to set the record straight about that long ago summer. Reunited after years apart, these very different siblings must decide if they can continue to be a family―& the house just might be the glue that holds them together.

Told through the shifting perspectives of Ann, Poppy, & Michael, this assured & affecting debut captures the ache of nostalgia for summers past & the powerful draw of the places we return to again & again. It is about second homes, second families, & second chances.

**They had me at ‘for fans of Elin Hilderbrand!’ I love well-written, debut novels that deal w/ family drama & stir emotions…& a Cape Cod setting makes it even better!

The Second Home” has well-fleshed out characters & is deftly plotted, complex, nuanced, & atmospheric. This is not a fluffy beach read, as there are a couple trigger warnings you should be aware of: rape & suicide. This is a deeply gripping & unforgettable book that you will have a hard time putting down. This riveting book would also make a super book club or book discussion group read.

Look for this book at your local booksellers today! Click HERE to add this to your Goodreads TBR. Click HERE to use BookStoreLink & find it at a local, independent book seller. (And I will another post about this book later this week, so keep an eye out for that.) What other books released today that you are excited to read? Please comment & let me know.

Click HERE to go to my Instagram

Praise for The Second Home:

One of Good Morning America’s “25 Novels You’ll Want to Read this Summer”

“A sure-footed ode to the strength of family, the depth of loss, and the power of forgiveness.” ―J. Ryan Stradal, New York Times best-selling author, Kitchens of the Great Midwest

The Second Home shows us how families are knit together and how they unravel; how a place―a geography, a house―can act as the repository for our best and most important memories. And that even the most damaged past can be reclaimed, a hard-won wisdom that shines through on every page. ―Jean Thompson, New York Times bestselling author of The Year We Left Home

“Clancy imagines her complicated characters with such empathy and precision that every questionable choice, every mistake, feels like the only option. The Second Home is a big, sprawling, smart, beautiful story about love and betrayal, home and family, and the foundations of forgiveness.” ―Lauren Fox, author of Days of AweFriends Like Us, and Still Life With Husband

“Christina Clancy writes with an arresting vividness and a nuanced understanding of her characters, who are buffeted by a storm of conflicting desires. A poignant but also very entertaining novel―full of startling detail, humor, and above all, an abiding sympathy for its beautifully drawn characters.” ―Christine Sneed, author of Little Known Facts

“This deeply moving and heartfelt book explores what makes a home – and how homes make us. It’s deftly plotted, sensuously told, and incredibly smart about the secrets that pull families apart and the love that knits them back together.” ―Liam Callanan, author of Paris by the Book.

“From the first pages of The Second Home, it’s abundantly clear that Christina Clancy has an abiding love for outer Cape Cod, which she conjures in all its bluster and beauty. But as this compelling novel progresses, it also becomes obvious that Clancy has a keen awareness of how secrets can tear apart even the closest of families. Drawn in by the exquisitely-rendered setting, I was riveted by this stirring, family drama.”―Karen Dukess, author of The Last Book Party

Warm, absorbing and thought-provoking…” ― Shelf Awareness

A riveting family saga that fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Cristina Alger, and Maria de los Santos will devour, Clancy’s debut novel is a delight. With nostalgia as thick as the scent of coconut-scented sunscreen, The Second Home explores the consequences of emotional decisions and the strength needed to set things right.”―Booklist (starred review)

Transporting
…Clancy’s beach-ready debut is sure to be a favorite with book clubs.” ― Publisher’s Weekly

Witty and compassionate, this is the page-turning saga, unfolding in several voices, of two sisters, their estranged adopted brother and the dispute that arises 15 years after their parents’ death.” ― Naples Daily News

“With its fond descriptions of Cape Cod’s land and seascapes and an evocation of a historic house layered with love and secrets, Clancy’s debut clearly has its eye firmly set on the summer-read market.” ― Kirkus

Christina Clancy‘s work has appeared in the New York Times, The Washington Post, The Chicago Tribune, The Sun Magazine and in various literary journals, including Glimmer Train, Pleiades and Hobart. She holds a PhD in Creative Writing from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. 
The Second Home is her first novel.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s